Quality Improvement Awards

QI Awards logo Walsall

Announcing the next QI Awards 2021 !

Click here for the advert and poster instructions

The NHS is facing significant financial and operational pressures, with services struggling to maintain standards of care. Hence, now more than ever, local and national NHS leaders need to focus on improving quality and delivering better-value care.

All NHS organisations should be focused on continually improving quality of care for people using their services. This includes improving the safety, effectiveness and experience of care. (From Kings Fund publication “Making the case for Quality Improvement”)

The Quality Improvement (QI) Awards are an opportunity for all staff at Walsall Healthcare NHS Trust to showcase their work in QI projects, audits, surveys, review of service, simulation and medical education.

We have organised the next QI Awards event to be held in July 2021 in a virtual format. The details about submission of your projects are available from the menu above.

The Inaugural QI Awards 2019 event was held on 3rd July 2019 in Walsall Manor Hospital’s Manor Learning and Conference Centre. The annual Medical Education Awards were also presented at this meeting.

The QI Awards winners – 2019

Poster submissions

Well done to all 29 entrants in the poster competition.

1st prize – Management of occult hip fractures in the Emergency Department
Dr. Shaik Fahad, Dr. Shahid Malik

1st Runner up prize – The use of Treatment Escalation plan (TEP) form in communicating ceiling of care at Walsall Manor Hospital
Dr Sophia Khattak, Dr Krishnappan Ramanathan, Dr Jeffrin Anthony

2nd Runner up prize – Dehydration levels amongst staff in the Emergency Department
Dr. Anjula Elepola, Dr. Hirushi S. Jayasekera, Dr. Nishanthini Yoganathan, Dr. Kalaprapa Asavisanu, Dr. Alam

Oral presentations

People’s Choice award – Improving Medication Safety By Properly Documenting Patient’s Allergy Intolerance And Sensitivity
Justice Chima

1st Prize – Quality Improvement Project in Cervical Screening Attendance
Dr. Rebecca Walters

Runner up – The implementation of a four joint elective arthroplasty list
Dr. Peter Logan

Medical education award winners

FY1 of the year
Jemima Taylor

Steph Clarke Memorial FY2 of the year
Asim Shoaib

This award was set up in memory of Steph, who died from a rare form of cancer in March 2019, to recognise the most professional, supportive and patient-orientated FY2 to be a fitting legacy to the vibrant and caring junior doctor.

Trainer of the year
Aiden Plant

You can also view photos from the event.

The Quality Improvement faculty look forward to showcasing the excellent work of our staff and students once again next year at the Qi Awards 2021! Follow the hashtag #qiawards2021 for the build-up to the event as it happens.